

Office of International Programs

List of English Speaking Countries

In general, students from following countries are exempt from providing English Proficiency test scores when applying to Washburn University. However, graduate students or undergraduate students who intend to study Nursing or pursue a BSN degree may not be exempt. Please check with your specific program of study to be sure this applies to your situation.

America Samoa Anguilla Malta
Antigua and Barbados Mauritius
Australia Montserrat
Bahamas Namibia
Barbados New Zealand
Belize Nigeria

Bermuda Papua New Guinea

Botswana Scotland
British Virgin Islands Seychelles
Cameroon with A levels Sierra Leone
Canada (except Quebec) Singapore

Cayman Islands

Dominica

England

Siligapore

Solomon Islands

South Africa

St. Kitts and Nevis

Fiji St. Lucia

Gambia St. Vincent and the Grenadines

Ghana Swaziland
Gibraltar Tanzania
Grenada Tonga

Guam Trinidad and Tobago
Guyana Turks and Caicos Islands

Ireland, Northern Ireland, U.S. Virgin Islands

Republic of Jamaica Uganda

Kenya United Kingdom

Lesotho Vanuatu
Liberia Wales
Malawi Zambia
Zimbabwe

Applicants from all other countries will need to provide TOEFL, IELTS, PTE, or Duolingo scores. See WU English Proficiency Requirements for more information.

Updated 3/15/2021